Education: Research

To find juvenile books, which covers everything from board books for babies through young adult (YA) literature, use Millikin Library Discovery.

1. Using the "Library Catalog" search enter your search topic and click the search icon or type return.
2. On the left side of the screen select "Staley Library - Juvenile Collection -- 4th Floor" under "Staley Library Location" (see the image below).
3. If "Juvenile Collection" is not offered as one of the location options, this means that Staley Library does not have any juvenile books on this topic.

  Consult our Children's Literature guide for techniques and tips for using this collection and finding other books for young people.

Videos, either on VHS or DVD, and sound recordings can be found using Millikin Library Discovery.

Search for your topic using the "Library Catalog" search and then choose "Resource Type" from the choices on the left and limit your search to videos, audio, etc.

You can also select Advanced Search from the main screen and use the "Material Type" option to limit your search to the preferred format.

Don't forget that Staley Library subscribes to the Education in Video collection that contains over 3,000 streaming videos on the topic of education.

Staley Library has a collection of text books and teacher's guides called the "Curriculum Collection" on the second floor of the library. These resources can help you create lesson or unit plans.

To find curriculum materials at Staley Library, there are two basic ways that you can search.

1. In Millikin Library Discovery you can search "Library Catalog" for a broad topic, say "math" or "algebra," and then from the results screen choose "Staley Library - Curriculum Collection -- 4th Floor" under the "Staley Library Location" option on the left (see the image below).
2. You may find it easier to simply come to the library and go up to the fourth floor. On the west side of the building (to the left if you come up the stairs), you'll see the shelves of curriculum materials, and further to the west, the shelves of juvenile books. Feel free to browse. Materials can be checked out with your student ID at the Library Services Desk on the main floor of the University Commons.

The library has several classroom manipulatives kits that can be checked out and used in the classroom or for lesson planning exercises. They include:

• Cuisenaire Rods
• Cubes to form a tower
• Kindergarten and Grade 2 visual learning poster lessons
• Two kits each including different wooden shapes and manipulatives

You can find the records for these collections in the online catalog by searching Millikin Library Discovery's "Library Catalog" search. Type in "Manipulatives Education" to find the wooden and plastic manipulatives or type in "Art museums educational aspects handbooks manuals" to find the records for the visual learning lessons.