LibGuides: Children's Literature: Finding Reviews

Introduction

Part of your assignment may be to locate published reviews of a children's or young adult title.

Staley Library has many resources that can help with this task, including:

Our online catalog
Article databases
Print & Online periodicals

In addition, many other free, internet sources provide book reviews.

Print & Online Periodicals

Staley Library subscribes to several print and online periodicals that contain book reviews, including the following:

Book Links
Online, 2002- present.
Print, 2003- present.
Focusing on preschool through 8th grade, articles and reviews meant to help teachers, librarians, and parents engage children with books and link books to curricula.
Booklist
Online, 2002- present.
Print, 1969 to present.
Booklist includes book reviews for children's and young adult titles.
Horn Book
Online, 1990- present.
Print, 1924- 2006.
Reviews, news, and articles about children's books.
Kirkus
Online, 2001- present.
Includes reviews of children's and YA titles.
Publisher's Weekly
Online, 1997- present.
Print, 1989- 1999.
Industry news and book reviews.
School Library Journal
Online, 1974- present.
Reviews of materials for children and young adults.
Young Children
Print, 1970 to present.
Includes some picture book reviews.

Online Catalog

Both Staley Library's online catalog and the I-Share online catalog often include book reviews.

Search for the title of your book in the search box below (if Staley Library does not own the title, switch the search option from "Library Catalog" to "All I-Share Libraries"
On the list of search results, click on the title that you are looking for and look for the link near the title/book cover image that says "Book Reviews." Click on that link.

On the next screen, click on the a link that says "Available Online"

Then click on the link presented under "Full Text Availability." (You may need to sign in to your account before being allowed to see the review.)

Article Databases

The databases most likely to have book reviews include ERIC, Academic Search Complete, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, OmniFile Full Text Select, and the Teacher Reference Center.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
(Education Resources Information Center) Includes some full-text. Education literature and resources, 1965-present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of over 9,000 journals. Multidisciplinary topics, some coverage as far back as 1887.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Includes some full-text. Science, humanities, education and business topics from US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, 1994-present.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators, 1990's-present.

Free Websites

Amazon
Amazon often includes published reviews or excerpts from published reviews with book information (not just user reviews). These are listed in the "Editorial Reviews" section, above the customer reviews.

Ask MUlibrarian

Email: refdesk@millikin.edu