Skip to Main Content

ED335 - Children, Families & Community Engagement - Page: Articles

Research resources and techniques for Professor Page's ED335 class.

Finding Articles at Staley Library

1. Begin at the Library's homepage (linked above).

  You can also start at the myMillikin page. Look for the "Academics" section on the right and then click on "Library Databases."

2. Click on the Search Databases button under "Find Articles, Audio & Video."

screenshot of the search databases button

3. You can access the databases by name or by subject.

screenshot of the databases by subject listing

4. Unless you have a specific database in mind, think about what you are researching. Your topic is part of what subjects? Click on the subject(s) for your topic.

5. You will then see a listing of database in that subject area. Click on one of them to begin searching. Keep in mind that different database will return different results, even in the same subject area, so make sure to try more than one!

partial listing of business databases at Staley Library

6. Each database is a little different, but they all have some things in common.

7. Every database has a box where you can type in the words for your search. Most database have multiple boxes. Try putting each of your search concepts in a separate box.

screenshot of keyword entry in a database

8. After you have conducted your search you will see a list of results.

9. In most databases you will be presented with options for narrowing down your results. These limits may include date, format type, subject, age, geographic location, etc.

screenshot of database limit results

10. When you find an article that looks interesting, click on the title to find out more about it.

11. The abstract is a short summary of the article. The subject terms are what the article is about and can be clicked on to find more articles on the same subject.

screenshot of subject terms listing

Education Specific Databases

Staley Library has a number of education specific article database. These can be accessed from the Staley Library Databases List under the Education subject. Below are a few highlights. For your Family Diversity assignment you may also find the sociology database SocIndex helpful.