LibGuides: Music Education: Home

Hours

Spring 2024 Hours (starting January 21)

Mondays-Thursdays: 8am-8pm
Fridays: 8am-4:30pm
Saturdays: 1pm-4:30pm
Sundays: 1pm-8pm

Librarian

Amanda Pippitt

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

University Commons 164

217-424-3957

Subjects: Biology, CWRR, Dance, Literature, Music, Nursing, Theatre, University Seminar

Useful Databases for Researching Music Education

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of over 9,000 journals. Multidisciplinary topics, some coverage as far back as 1887.

Library Audio/Video Resources

Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Over 500 hours of dance documentaries and filmed performances.

Helpful Websites

Contact Us

	Chat Chat with us
	Email refdesk@millikin.edu
	Call 217-424-6214
	Visit University Commons
	Make an Appointment Book a librarian

Music Education @ Staley Library

LOCATIONS

Staley Library has books, scores, DVDs, & CDs related to music education. These are in different locations/areas of the library.

Book Stacks: are the books on the movable/compact shelving units on the 2nd floor

Video Stacks: are the DVDs on the 4th floor. Their call numbers start with A-V.

Juvenile Collection: are the children's books on the 4th floor. Their call numbers start with JUV.

Music Stacks: are the music scores and CDs on the 4th floor. Score call numbers start with MUSIC. CD call numbers start with CDISC.

CALL NUMBERS

One way to find materials on music education topics is to browse the shelves for Library of Congress call numbers that match this subject.

Try these numbers in the book stacks, video stacks, juvenile collection, CDs, and scores. The location prefix (first line of the call number) may be different (e.g. A-V, Music, Juv.) but the basic numbers are the same because in the Library of Congress system, the letter/number combinations code for different topics:

GV 1743 = National dances. Folk dances and dancing
M 1375-1420 = Instrumental music for children
M 1990-1998 = Secular vocal music for children
M 2190-2196 = Sacred vocal music for children
ML 198-360.6 = Music history by region/country
ML 3544-3776 = Folk, national, ethnic music
MT1-960= Music Instruction and Study
- MT 1 = General Works
- MT 3-5 = History [of Music Instruction & Study]
- MT 5.5-7 = Music Theory
- MT 10 = Teacher’s and supervisor’s manuals, etc.
- MT 17 = Music for special education
- MT 18 = Music in colleges and universities
- MT 20-34 = Systems and methods
- MT 35-39 = Notation
- MT 40-67 = Composition. Elements and techniques of music
- MT 68 = Improvisation. Accompaniment. Transposition
- MT 70-74= Instrumentation and orchestration
- MT 75 = Interpretation
- MT 80 = Embellishment
- MT 82 = Memorization
- MT 85 = Conducting. Score reading and playing
- MT 87 = Community music
- MT 88 = Administration and instruction of vocal groups
- MT 90-146 = Analysis and appreciation of musical works
- MT 155 = Music theory for children
- MT 165 = Tuning
- MT 170-810 = Instrumental techniques
  - MT 740-810 = Instrumental techniques for children
- MT 820-915 = Singing and vocal techniques
  - MT 898-915 = Vocal techniques for children
- MT 918-948 = School music
  - MT 920-925 = Kindergarten
  - MT 930-948 = Elementary schools, Junior High schools, High schools.
- MT 950 = Music to accompany instruction in dancing (ballet, folk, etc.)
- MT 955-956 = Musical theater
- MT 960 = Music in the theater

Juv. ML 3930 = Children's books about music/musicians
Juv. PN 6110 .C4 = Collections of poetry for and about children
Juv. PZ 8.3 = Verses for children. Stories in rhyme

KEYWORDS/SEARCH TERMS

You can also search the online catalog for specific Library of Congress subjects that tend to be assigned to music education materials:

Activity programs in education& Music, Influence of
Children's songs
Dance- Folk and national dances
Dance for children
Early childhood education
Elementary school teaching
Education, Elementary
Education, Preschool
Eurythmics
Finger play
Folk dancing
Folk Songs
Games with music
Movement education
Music and dance
Music appreciation
Music in education
Music- Instruction and Study- Juvenile
Music- Instruction and Study- Curricula
Music, Influence of
Musical meter and rhythm
Musico-callisthenics
Nursery rhymes
Operas- Juvenile
Preschool music
Recorder music
Rhyming games
School music
School music- Instruction and study
Singing games
Singing- Instruction and study- Juvenile
Teaching- Aids and devices

In the online catalog, try clicking on the “Advanced” button. Then try a search for a combination of terms like:

“music” [fist box] AND “preschool” [second box] AND “curriculum” [third box]

“recorders” [first box] AND “children” [second box] AND “music” [third box]

“children” [first box] AND “music appreciation” [second box]

You can also try searching the names of key music education theorists. Hint: you may want to put quotes around their names when you do you your search. Or, you may want to try searching just the last name to find books that refer to things like the “Kodaly method” as well as "Kodaly, Zoltan."

Carl Orff
Madeleine Carabo-Cone
Zoltan Kodaly
John M. Feierabend
Emile Jacques Dalcroze
Edwin Gordon

New Music Education Items @ Staley Library

First Steps in Global Music by Karen Howard
Call Number: MT918.H69 F57 2020
ISBN: 9781622773992
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
In this amazing collection of songs children love to sing, Karen Howard truly opens the door to encountering songs from diverse cultures and experiences, on themes from family, animals, flowers, food, and more. The repertoire in First Steps in Global Music is particularly accessible for teachers and children wishing to discover these great songs. Organized by geographical region, Howard provides the context and guidance--including references to recordings--for these songs to come alive. She further organizes the songs based on First Steps activity categories: Fragment Singing, Simple Songs, Movement for Form and Expression, Movement with the Beat, and Songtales.
The Oxford Handbook of Technology and Music Education by S. Alex Ruthmann (Editor); Roger Mantie (Editor)
Call Number: MT1 .O97 2020
ISBN: 9780197502983
Publication Date: 2020-03-01
Diverse cast of authors at the intersection of technology and music education - Companion website provides a forum through which readers and academics may engage with the handbook's material and complementary content - Sections organized into pairs of broader Core Perspectives and specified Further Perspectives - Examines the role of commerce and industry on teaching.
The Learner-Centered Music Classroom by David A. Williams (Editor); Jonathan R. Kladder (Editor)
Call Number: MT1 .L525 2020
ISBN: 9780367204464
Publication Date: 2019-07-22
The Learner-Centered Music Classroom: Models and Possibilities is a resource for practicing music teachers, providing them with practical ideas and lesson plans for implementing learner-centered pedagogical concepts into their music classrooms. The purpose of this book is to propose a variety of learner-centered models for music teaching and learning through the use of a variety of autoethnographic viewpoints. Nine contributors provide working and concrete examples of learner-centered models from their classrooms. Offering lesson plan ideas in each of these areas, the contributors provide practical approaches for implementation of learner-centered approaches in music instruction across a variety of landscapes. Learner-centered teaching provides an approach to music education that encourages social, interactive, culturally responsive, creative, peer-based, open-formed, facilitated, and democratic learning. Chapter 1 defines the what, why and perceived benefits of learner-centered approaches in music teaching and learning contexts. Chapters 2 through 10 include sample lesson plans, rubrics, etc., as models for teachers. The contributors to this book suggest that learner-centered approaches, when embedded into the culture and curricular framework of a music classroom, offer exciting approaches for teaching music in ways that are culturally and educationally appropriate in contemporary education.