Home - TH234 - Design & Production Seminar - LibGuides at Millikin University

Keywords

Dystopian/Dystopia

Disease/Virus/Bacteria/Leprosy-Hansen's Disease/Plague/Influenza

Mass graves

(1920s) European slums

Political/Politics/Nationalism/Totalitarianism/Fascism/Fascist

Dictator(s)/Authoritarian regimes (possible specific examples like Hitler, Franco, or Mussolini)

WW2

20th century (early 20th century) medicine/medical treatments/science/doctors/hospitals

1930s- architecture/design/furniture/fashion/hair

Propaganda/propagandist art

Youth culture (in the 1930s?)

Military/war/soldiers/weapons

Demographics/social class/upper class/lower class/rich/poor

Pacifist/pacifism/peace movements

Czechoslovakia/Czech

Primary & Reference Sources- Print

Print Periodicals (2nd floor):

If you want to look at images from the 1930's forward, old issues of periodicals may be useful to you.

Time Pictures of the general public, advertisements. From 1937-1960 are bound, 1960-1961 on microfilm, 1961-present are bound.

History Books (2nd floor):

Since history books usually contain photographs, search the online catalog for history books relating to the era, country, or event you are researching to see images of people in the popular fashions and hairstyles of the era.

Art of the 1930's by Edward Lucie-Smith
Call Number: N6493 1930 .L8
ISBN: 9780847806096
Publication Date: 1985-09-15
Discusses the art of the 1930s and the social and political movements which influenced it.
A Disease Apart by Tony Gould
Call Number: RC154.4 .G69 2005
ISBN: 0312305028
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
An account of leprosy in the modern world
Iron Fists by Steven Heller; ProjectProjects (Designed by)
Call Number: NC1849.T67 H45 2008
ISBN: 9780714848464
Publication Date: 2008-06-13
The Nazis : Creating symbols ; Propagating the brand ; Wielding graphics ; Culture war ; The legacy of Nazi design -- The Italian fascists : Creating the fascist myth ; Fascist style ; Promoting empire ; Death to Mussolini -- The Soviet communists : Branding Marxism ; The Soviet avant-garde ; The cult of personality ; Socialist realism ; The "new openness" -- The communist Chinese : The great helmsman ; Red style ; Selling the cultural revolution ; End of the brand.
Pacifism in the Twentieth Century by Peter Brock; Nigel Young
Call Number: JZ5560 .B76 1999
ISBN: 0815681259
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The Power of Plagues by Irwin w. Sherman
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 9781683673088
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
This book presents an historical account of how plagues past and present have shaped the outcome of wars and altered the course of medicine, religion, education, feudalism, and science. Cholera gave birth to the field of epidemiology. The bubonic plague epidemic that began in 1346 led to the formation of universities in cities far from the major centers of learning (and hot spots of the Black Death) at that time. Pathogens are not the only stars of this book. Many scientists and physicians who toiled to treat and prevent these plagues are also featured. This edition also covers modern disease.
Prop art: over 1000 contemporary political posters by Gary Yanker
Call Number: NC1810 .Y3
ISBN: 9780821204269
Publication Date: 1972
pt. 1. Propaganda poster: Propaganda art ; The international propaganda phenomenon ; Poster literature ; Poster types and functions ; Basic elements of political graphic design ; The PLANT approach ; Production and distribution ; Poster substitutes ; The law and prop art -- pt. 2. The poster gallery: Election campaigns, 1967 to 1971 ; Election campaign issues ; Major political events ; Major political themes ; Minor themes ; Poster substitutes.
What Is Medical History? by John C. Burnham
Call Number: R131 .B965 2005
ISBN: 0745632246
Publication Date: 2005-04-01

Reference Books (2nd floor):

The Thirties by Golson Books, Ltd. Staff; Rodney P. Carlisle
Call Number: REF. D723 .D39 2007
ISBN: 9780816066643
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
v. 1. 1930-1935 -- v. 2. 1936-1939

Costume Design

Please see this separate guide for fashion/costume design resources: https://millikin.libguides.com/fashion

Scenic Design

1930s Interiors (Flickr)

Image Databases/Websites

Calisphere
Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
CC Search
CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone.
Creative Commons (Flickr)
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
Getty Open Content
This tool is designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover the variety of resources available across the Getty's collections, which include collections in each the four programs: the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. This search option focuses on open content.
PhotoPin
Free Creative Commons photos.
UnSplash
Over 1 million free high-resolution images brought to you by photographers around the world.
Wikimedia Commons
Freely usable media files.

Primary Sources- Online

Google Arts & Culture
Exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world.
Hoover Institution Digital Collections
A collection of materials relating to documenting war, revolution, and peace in the 20th and 21st centuries. Browse the collections by a theme (communism, cold war, propaganda, etc.) or by format (posters, objects, photos, etc.)
Life Photo Archive
Photos from the publication Life Magazine.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Prints and Photographs
The prints and photographs collection contains images dating from the 15th to the 21st century. The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
Nazi and East German Propaganda
Visual and written propaganda.
Peace Collection (Swathmore College)
Peace Collection is the most extensive research library and archive collection in the United States focusing solely on movements for peace around the world. The collection includes primary resource materials such as manuscripts, photographs, posters, audiovisual items, stamps, bumper stickers, political buttons, flags, and other ephemera.
Wellcome Collection
Explore digitized collections from the Wellcome Collection, a museum of health and medical history.

Lighting & Sound

The Lighting Archive
Plots, focus charts, and cue sheets from real shows with an emphasis on historical productions and designers who have made important contributions to the field.
Theatrical Lighting Database (NYPL Archives)
Plots, focus charts, cue sheets and much more from four landmark productions (digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library.

What is Copyright?

The Copyright Information Center from Cornell University has good information on Copyright Basics and a Fair Use Checklist.

Copyright and Fair Use FAQ from Stanford University's Copyright and Fair Use Center includes extensive information on copyright law, including fair use, the public domain, and academic & educational permissions.

The video below, from the Copyright Clearance Center gives a basic overview of concepts related to copyright law.