Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ES206 - Foundations of Health, Fitness, and Recreation: Finding Articles

A research guide for students in ES206.

Accessing Article Databases

To access any of the article databases discussed on this page:

1)  Sign in to myMillikin

2)  Click on "Library Databases" (under the Academics menu)

Screen shot of library databases button in myMillikin

3)  Click on the subject "Sport/Exercise Science"

Sports Databases

4)  On the next screen, click on the title of the database you wish to search, some options include:

SPORTDiscus

Academic Search Complete

Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source

SPORTDiscus

SPORTDiscus Search Tips:

  • Check the Peer-Reviewed checkbox below the search boxes in order to limit your results to articles in peer-reviewed publications.
  • In the box labeled "Language," below the main search boxes, choose "English" to eliminate articles not published in English.
Screen shot of language limit in Sport Discus
  • In some cases, to increase your search results you may also want to select the checkbox (below the main search boxes) labeled "Also Search Within the Full Text of the Articles." 
Screen shot of search within full text feature

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete Search Tips:

  • To limit your results to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, check the box next to "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals," on the left side of the screen after you do your search.

Academic Search Complete result limit options

  • To preview a description of the article (abstract), hover your mouse of the symbol of the magnifying glass.

Abstract preview

Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source

Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Search Tips:

  • Select the "Peer reviewed" checkbox limit below the search boxes to limit to articles from peer reviewed publications.
Screen shot of peer-review limit in Proquest database
  • After you do your search, look for the limits on the right side of the screen and select "Scholarly Journals" to limit to articles published scholarly journals (you may wish to use both the peer-reviewed limit and the scholarly journals limit, as they are not exactly the same thing).
Screen shot of source type limit in Proquest

Ask MUlibrarian