Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BI155 - Ecology & Evolution Lab - Robertson: Finding Articles

A research guide for students looking for sources for their ecology & evolution "aquatic locomotion" lab.

Useful Databases for this Assignment

The three best databases to search for this assignment are listed below. For search tips, please see the boxes to the right.

Ask MUlibrarian

Using BioOne Complete

1. Begin by typing your search term(s) in the box provided and clicking "Search."

BioOne Complete search screen

2. After you do your search, you will see your search results, along with other search limit options on the left side of the screen. Limit your results to the last ten years by sliding the year range option on the left side to the right.

BioOne Complete year limit

3. You may wish to narrow your results by adding further search terms to the box at the top of the limit options, or by clicking on "Advanced Search" at the top of the screen.

BioOne Complete search within results optionBioOne Complete advanced search options

4. Start browsing your results for appropriate articles. Click on the titles of those that like like possibilities, and read the abstract to make sure it matches the content you want, and that it is a primary source.

BioOne Complete article abstract

5. Click "Download PDF" to read the entire article.

BioOne Complete download PDF option

6. To find similar articles, first, click on the article title, then click on the tab labeled "Cited By" to see what other articles cite this article.

BioOne Complete article cited by option

Using JSTOR

1. First, scroll down the screen to the section titled "Narrow by Discipline and/or Publication Title" and check the box next to "Biological Sciences."

Limit to Biological Sciences

2. Now, type your search terms into the search boxes (you can add more than two search boxes by clicking the "Add Field+" button). Next, click in the "Articles" limit below the search boxes to limit to only article content and type in your date limits in the "Date Range" boxes. Click "Search."

JSTOR search screen

3. To view the article, click on the article's title in the search results. This will take you straight to the full text. Read the abstract or page through a few pages of the article using the arrow to the right of the article to make sure the content is what you need, and that it is a primary source.

JSTOR biology article result

4. To print or save the article, click on "View PDF." Click on "Accept JSTOR's Terms and Conditions and proceed to PDF."

JSTOR pdf link

*Caution- JSTOR pdf files are extremely high quality scans, which means they can take a long time to print.

 

Using Academic Search Complete

1. Type your search terms into the boxes. Below the search boxes, click in the box labeled "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals."  Add your date limits to the boxes labeled "Published Date."

Peer-review and date limits in Academic Search Premier

2. In your list of results, hover your mouse over the preview button on the right side of each item to see a preview of the abstract. To see a full abstract or more details about the articles, click on the title.

Preview option in Academic Search Premier

Tip: Clicking on the article's title, then looking at the list of "Subject Terms" often suggests new keywords to search.

Subject headings or terms in Academic Search Premier

3. If there is a full text link, click on it to view the article. Otherwise, see the tab on "finding the full text of articles" for information on how to access or request the full text of articles you are interested in.

PDF full text option

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches many academic publisher and higher education websites, as well as court opinions, institutional repositories, and Google Books.

It can be a good way to find scholarly articles, in addition to the library subscription databases discussed above.

However,

  • it does not have as many useful search limit options and helpful features as a library database
  • it does not include access to the full text of many of the resources it finds (or often asks for $30-$60 per article to view an article for 24 hours)
  • it is less strict about what it considers "scholarly"

You can make Google Scholar more useful to you, as a Millikin student, by turning on your "library links." This is done automatically on campus lab computers, but on your own personal laptop or home computer, here's how:

1. Click on "Settings" at the top of the page.

Scholar settings

2. Click on "Library links" on the left side of the page.

Scholar library links

3. Type "Millikin University" in the search box and search. Check off all the "Millikin" options presented to you. Click "Save."

Scholar Millikin options

4. Now, when you search, you will see Millikin options to help you obtain the full text of articles, or locate books at our library, listed to the right of results, or under the "More" option with each result.

Find it in Google Scholar Find it in Google Scholar- more