Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BI155 - Ecology & Evolution Lab - Robertson: Requesting Articles with ILLiad

A research guide for students looking for sources for their ecology & evolution "aquatic locomotion" lab.

Creating Your ILLiad Account

You will only need to create your ILLiad account once and it only takes 2 steps!

1. Every time that you access ILLiad you will be prompted to log in using your standard Millikin username and password.

2. The first time that you access ILLiad, the account creating screen will be displayed. Fill out the information (your name, Millikin ID, and e-mail address should be pre-populated): phone, address (home or campus), student or faculty status, and your major or department and the click "Submit Information."

ILLiad create profile screen

You are now ready to use ILLiad for interlibrary loan requests.

How to Access ILLiad

There are several ways that you can access your ILLiad account to request and, in the case of articles, access interlibrary loan materials.

1. In myMillikin, on the right under "Academics" there is a link to ILLiad. (If you use ILLiad frequently, you may want to customize your "Fast Access" menu to include the ILLiad icon.)

ILLiad button in myMillikin

2. On the Library's homepage (https://millikin.edu/staley) there is an ILLiad button as well as a link under the Services menu on the right side of the page..

screenshot of the services menu on the library's homepage

There are also situations where you will be asked to log in to your ILLiad account:

1. When you use the Find It! button in the library databases you will be taken into Millikin Library Discovery. If the article is not available in another database, you will see a Request through Interlibrary Loan link. Clicking on that link will take you into ILLiad and the citation information will automatically be added to the request.

Request through interlibrary loan link

 You will need to be logged into Millikin Library Discovery to see the Request through Interlibrary Loan link.

2. When you are placing an interlibrary loan request for an item in WorldCat.

ILL/Request from other Library

Navigating within ILLiad

  Every time that you access ILLiad you will be prompted to log in to myMillikin using your Millikin username and password, unless you are already logged in to myMillikin.

ILLiad main page with menu

Navigation in ILLiad is provided through the links in blue menu bar.

  • Main Menu takes you to the main screen for ILLiad.
  • New Requests allows you to place a request for an item that you found from a citation or a bibliography. Choose the form for the correct item type and fill out as much information as possible.
  • History allows you to to see your completed and cancelled requests and your email notification history. This is great for refreshing your memory and preventing accidental repeat requests.
  • Search allows you to search either by active request or by all your requests.
  • Profile allows you to update your personal information, such as phone, department/major, or address..
  • Logoff allows you to log out of ILLiad.

Under the menu there are some quick action items.

  • Electronically Received Articles allows you to access PDF copies of the articles you have received through interlibrary loan. Use the "View" menu option to view the article. Articles are available for 30 days from the date that they are originally posted.
  • Checked Out Items shows any items such as books, music scores, or multimedia that are currently checked out to you. You can use the "Actions" menu to request a renewal.
  • Outstanding Requests shows your requests that are currently being processed by interlibrary loan staff. You can see the status of the request from the main screen or use the "Details" button to see more information.  The "Actions" menu has the option to cancel a pending request.

  All articles in ILLiad are in PDF format. It is always a good idea to save or print the article for your personal use. Look for a "Print" or "Download" option in your browser when you are viewing the PDF.

print and download options in the Chrome browser

Finding & Requesting the Full Text of Articles

So, you have found an article in a library database that looks interesting and now you want to read the entire article? Here's how you do it.

1. After clicking on the title in the results list, look through the record for a link that says PDF Full TextHTML Full Text or View PDF. Any of these options will show you the entire article, which you can then download.

Full Text options

 HTML Full Text is only the text of the article, while the PDF Full Text contains all of the charts, graphs, and images in the original article.

 A great way to save your article for later is to use the email option. You can email the article to any email address and in most databases you can send an APA or MLA style citation as well.

E-mail option

2. If there is no link to the full text article, look for the Find It! button.

red Find It! button

3. After you click on the Find It button, you will be taken into Millikin Library Discovery and will be presented with different options for getting the full text of the article.

Option #1: Electronic Full Text

Link to full text in a database

Sometimes articles will be available electronically in another database. Look under "View Online" for Full text availability and then a database name. Click on the link and you'll be taken to the database or website where you can access the full text.

Option #2: Check Print Availability

Description of print journal

Sometimes the library owns the journal in print or microfilm. If so, you'll see this information in the "Get It" section of the page. You'll need to check the years of the journal that the library owns and if it covers the year of the article that you are looking for. If so, you can photocopy or scan the article.

Option #3: Request through Interlibrary Loan

Request through interlibrary loan link

If the library does not have electronic access to the article and does not own it in print, then you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

  You will need to be logged into Millikin Library Discovery to see the Request through Interlibrary Loan link in the "How to get it" part of the page.

Click the link that says Request through Interlibrary Loan. This will open a new window (you may need to login with your myMillikin username and password). Check to make sure that the request information looks correct and then click "Submit Request."

Submit request

You will receive an email when your article is available electronically in your ILLiad account (typically in 2-3 business days).

Finding & Requesting the Article When You Have a Citation

If you already have the citation for an article, Staley Library can help you to find the full article.

1. Begin at the Library's homepage (https://millikin.edu/staley).

2. Click on the button Search Databases.

Search databases

3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Already have a citation?

Already have a citation?

4. A new window/tab will open that shows the "Fetch Item (Citation Linker)" form. Fill it in with as much information you have about the item you are looking for and click Submit.

Fetch item

 You can get to the "Fetch Item (Citation Linker)" form directly in Millikin Library Discovery using the more (three dot) menu at the top of the page, then clicking Fetch Item.

millikin library discovery top menu with the more option highlighted

You now have three options for getting the entire article.

Option #1: Access Electronic Full Text

View Online

If full text is available in one of the databases, you will be provided a link directly to the database. Look under "View Online" for Full text availability and/or a specific vendor/publisher/provider name. Click on the link and you'll be taken to the database where you can access the full text.

Option #2: Check Print Availability

Description of print journal

 

Sometimes the library owns the journal in print or microfilm. If so, you'll see this information in the "Get It" section of the page. You'll need to check the years of the journal that the library owns and if it matches the year of the article that you are looking for. If so, you can photocopy or scan the article.

Option #3: Request Through Interlibrary Loan

Request through Interlibrary Loan

If the library does not have electronic access to the article or own it in print, then you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Click the link that says Request through Interlibrary Loan. This will open a new window. You'll be asked to log in to myMillikin (if you aren't logged in already). The information about the article should already be in the form, but check to make sure the following required information is there:

  • Article title
  • Journal / Magazine title
  • Year

The following items are not required, but are very helpful to have:

  • Page range of the article
  • Article author
  • Volume & Issue
  • Month
  • ISSN

When everything looks correct click Submit Request.

ILLiad article request form populated with sample information

You will receive an email when your article is available in your ILLiad account (typically in 2-3 business days).

Requesting the Article When You Have the DOI

If you are looking for an article and you have the article's Digital Object Identifier (DOI) there is an easy way to make the request. From the ILLiad main menu use the New Requests menu option to navigate to the Article request form. At the top of the form enter the DOI for the article and click Resolve DOI (DOIs typically look like 10.1177/1461444820953541 or https://doi.org/10.1177/0163443717745147). The form should now auto-fill with all the article information. In some cases a View Open Access Version button will appear. This button will take you directly to an open access version of the article. 

ILLiad article request form with the Resolve DOI button highlighted

  The open access version my be an author pre-print that lacks the page numbers or other information that appears on the published article.

If the open access version is available and suits your purpose, congratulations, you have your article! If the open access version isn't what you were looking for or isn't available, use the Submit Request button to send the request to interlibrary loan staff and we will get the article from another library.

 You will receive an email when your article is available electronically in your ILLiad account.