LibGuides: Staley Library & COVID-19: Digital Collections

Book, Document, and Audio/Visual Collections

National Emergency Library
A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Project Gutenberg
A library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Many of them are older works for which the copyright has expired. Many are classics.
Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts
"Over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account."
Digital Public Library of America
Over 36 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
LibriVox
Free public domain audio books.
Smithsonian Open Access
2.8 million high-resolution two- and three-dimensional images from across the Smithsonian collections.
Google Books
Use Google to search the full-text of millions of book, some of which can be read in their entirety.
Scribd
30 day trial to popular magazines, books, and audiobooks, no credit card required for sign up ($9.99 after 30 days)

Millikin's Library Catalog also contains many ebooks. Search in the catalog and then limit to "Format: Electronic" or "Location: CARLI eBooks or CARLI Open Access Materials OR HathiTrust eResources (public domain) OR Open Textbook Library."

Open Education Teaching Resources

Open Textbook Library
Over 700 textbook in a variety of disciplines that can be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books also appear in Millikin's Library Catalog.
MERLOT Open Educational Resources
Access to "curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers."
OER Commons
Over 50,000 open educational resources (OERs) that you can search and browse. Open education resources are "teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost. "
OASIS
A search tool search tool that "aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records."
National Science Digital Library
Open educational resources focusing on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
MIT OpenCourseWare: Online Textbooks
A combination of online textbooks that are open-licensed electronic versions of print books, self-published online books, or course notes. Coverage is mostly in math and the sciences.

Staley Library & COVID-19: Digital Collections

Introduction

Book, Document, and Audio/Visual Collections

Open Education Teaching Resources