Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Faculty Workshop 2021: Home

Resources and information from the What's New at Staley Library? workshop on August 16, 2021.

Welcome

Survey: Would you like to learn more about any of the topics covered in the workshop or on this guide? Please fill out this brief form.

Keep up with the latest developments at Staley Library at our Staley Library & COVID-19 guide.

Millikin Library Discovery

Millikin Library Discovery is the replacement for the Millikin Library Catalog. It is a way to search for materials in Staley Library and in I-Share, and it allows you to search for articles and more from our library subscription databases. 

When you perform a search in Millikin Library Discovery you have the following options:

  • Search Starter: A good place to start your research. It searches a broad range of our resources: print books, ebooks, some articles, scores, audio, video, and images.
  • Library Catalog: Search print and electronic materials (books, audio, video, scores, journals) in Staley Library's collection.
  • All I-Share Libraries: Search books, audio, video, scores, and journals owned by I-Share Libraries (89 academic & research libraries in Illinois).
  • Articles (EBSCO Databases): Article search in EBSCO-branded subscription databases like Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, PsycINFO, SocINDEX, etc.
  • Articles (Non-EBSCO Databases): Article search in non-EBSCO branded subscription databases like JSTOR, ProQuest Biology and Nursing/Allied Health, ACS Web Editions, etc.
  • WorldCat Catalog: Search library collections at non-I-Share libraries.
  • Course Reserves: Search items held on reserve at Staley Library for Millikin courses.

My Library Card

Login to Millikin Library Discovery using the Sign in link on the upper right of the screen. Millikin faculty, students, and staff should select "Millikin Users" and then enter your myMillikin username and password to access your account.

animation of the sign in process

Once you are logged in, you should see your name in the upper right. Click your name and then select My Library Card from the drop down. My Library Card is a quick way to see all of the items that are currently checked out to you, any pending requests, fines and fees, messages, blocks on your account, and your personal details.

my library card

  For items that you have on loan from I-Share libraries you will need to select the library that owns the item from the list on the left to see your loans and to renew. Look for the clipboard icon next to a library's name or use the filter to shorten the list to those institutions that have activity.

listing of institutions with activity in my account

New Library Databases

Library Guides

Library Liaisons & Library Instruction

For more information on how the library can help you and your students, please contact your librarian liaison. You can also talk with your liaison about library instruction in your classes.

Discipline/Program Departmental Liaison
African American Studies Rachel Bicicchi
Archives Amanda Pippitt
Art Matthew Olsen
Arts Technology & Administration Matthew Olsen
Behavioral Sciences Matthew Olsen
Biology Amanda Pippitt/Elizabeth Hollendonner
Business Matthew Olsen
Chemistry Amanda Pippitt
Communication Rachel Bicicchi
Education Matthew Olsen
English Rachel Bicicchi
Environmental Studies Amanda Pippitt/Elizabeth Hollendonner
Exercise Science & Sport Elizabeth Hollendonner
Gender Studies Rachel Bicicchi
History & Political Science Rachel Bicicchi
Honors Amanda Pippitt
Juvenile Literature Elizabeth Hollendonner
Leisure Reading Elizabeth Hollendonner
Long-Vanderburg Rachel Bicicchi
Mathematics & Computational Sciences Rachel Bicicchi
Modern Languages Matthew Olsen
Music Amanda Pippitt/Elizabeth Hollendonner
New Technologies Studio Rachel Bicicchi
Nursing Amanda Pippitt/Elizabeth Hollendonner
Philosophy and Religion Matthew Olsen
Physics & Astronomy Rachel Bicicchi
Sociology & Criminal Justice Matthew Olsen
Theatre & Dance Amanda Pippitt