Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Whatever database you search, remember that:
- More search terms = fewer, more specific results (for example: fashion AND sports AND history).
- Fewer search terms = more, broader/less specific results (for example: fashion).
- To find articles about a specific fashion/costume desinger, search the name of the designer, for example: Coco Chanel.
- You may also want to search for the fashion label they designed for, for example: Alexander McQueen designed for Givenchy.
- To find articles about fashion during a particular era of history, search for terms like fashion AND 1920s or,
- Try spelling out the decade instead of using numbers: fashion AND nineteen twenties
- If there is a special term for the time period, use that in your search, for example: fashion AND Belle Epoque
- If there is a specific fashion trend associated with that era, try searching using those terms. For example: flapper dresses AND history
- If you want to focus on fashion of a specific country or city, add that to your search terms. For example: Ghana AND clothing
- Also, try adding the nationality to your search. For example: French AND fashion
Specific Types of Clothing & Accessories
- Search for the word "history" with the type of clothing or accessory: For example, history AND lingerie
Other terms that may be useful in your searches:
- Fashion design
- Fashion designers
- Fashion photography
- Fashion shows
- Clothing industry
- Clothing and dress
- Children's clothing
- Men's clothing
- Women's clothing
The links below will take you to suggested article databases for researching fashion history.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of over 9,000 journals. Multidisciplinary topics, some coverage as far back as 1887.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Includes some full-text. Science, humanities, education and business topics from US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, 1994-present.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is the definitive research tool for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for the top performing arts journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Digitized back-runs of core scholarly journals. Coverage of recent volumes will vary by title, but usually does not include the most recent 4 years. Note: This is not a current issues database.