Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites for Researching Fashion
CONTENTdm Collection of Collections
"Here you will find records representing a sampling of collections created by the hundreds of libraries and cultural heritage organizations using CONTENTdm today. Some records represent individual collections; some connect you to entire digital libraries. Each record attempts to describe the breadth and depth of the resources you will find when you access the site using the URL listed in each record."
The Costume Gallery
This site presents over 3,600 pages of period (1800s through mid-1900s) fashion articles, catalogs, books, and images. The site can be browsed, but most images require a subscription account to access.
The Costumer's Manifesto
This site of costume-related links was created by Tara Maginnis, a former professor and costume designer. Fashion history links range from pre-historic to current fashion.
"Search.creativecommons.org offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations." With a Creative Commons license, the file creator keeps the copyright but allows people to copy and distribute work provided credit is given and specific conditions are met.
Fashion at the Victoria and Albert Museum
The V&A holds the national collection of Textiles and Fashion, which spans a period of more than 5000 years, from Predynastic Egypt to the present day. A good source for images, articles, and reading lists/bibliographies.
This website contains 705 content-rich, illustrated pages of fashion history, costume history, clothing, fashions, and social history from Regency era through the 1990s.
Fashion Plate Collection
Images of fashion plates from French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th and early 20th century. Era and keyword searchable.
A fashion database and photo archive of over 2 million current fashion photos, videos, and more. Browsable by designer, collection, country, and date (earliest dates are mid-1990s).
Theater Photography from the Theresa Helburn Collection Bryn Mawr College
"This image database includes descriptions and low-resolution copies of over 1100 production and publicity photographs relating to the Theatre Guild. Each photograph has been indexed by photographer and by subject, and, where applicable, by play title and playwright."
LIFE Photo Archive This link opens in a new window
"Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google."