Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MH211/MH314 - Survey of Western Music I & II: Finding Full Text

A guide for students in MH211 and MH314 researching music history topics from medieval times through the Classical era and from the Romantic era through the present.

Finding & Requesting the Full Text of Articles

So, you have found an article in a library database that looks interesting and now you want to read the entire article? Here's how you do it.

1. After clicking on the title in the results list, look through the record for a link that says PDF Full TextHTML Full Text or View PDF. Any of these options will show you the entire article, which you can then download.

Full Text options

 HTML Full Text is only the text of the article, while the PDF Full Text contains all of the charts, graphs, and images in the original article.

 A great way to save your article for later is to use the email option. You can email the article to any email address and in most databases you can send an APA or MLA style citation as well.

E-mail option

2. If there is no link to the full text article, look for the Find It! button.

red Find It! button

3. After you click on the Find It button, you will be taken into Millikin Library Discovery and will be presented with different options for getting the full text of the article.

Option #1: Electronic Full Text

Link to full text in a database

Sometimes articles will be available electronically in another database. Look under "View Online" for Full text availability and then a database name. Click on the link and you'll be taken to the database or website where you can access the full text.

Option #2: Check Print Availability

Description of print journal

Sometimes the library owns the journal in print or microfilm. If so, you'll see this information in the "Get It" section of the page. You'll need to check the years of the journal that the library owns and if it covers the year of the article that you are looking for. If so, you can photocopy or scan the article.

Option #3: Request through Interlibrary Loan

Request through interlibrary loan link

If the library does not have electronic access to the article and does not own it in print, then you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

  You will need to be logged into Millikin Library Discovery to see the Request through Interlibrary Loan link in the "How to get it" part of the page.

Click the link that says Request through Interlibrary Loan. This will open a new window (you may need to login with your myMillikin username and password). Check to make sure that the request information looks correct and then click "Submit Request."

Submit request

You will receive an email when your article is available electronically in your ILLiad account (typically in 2-3 business days).

Finding & Requesting the Article When You Have a Citation

If you already have the citation for an article, Staley Library can help you to find the full article.

1. Begin at the Library's homepage (https://millikin.edu/staley).

2. Click on the button Search Databases.

Search databases

3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Already have a citation?

Already have a citation?

4. A new window/tab will open that shows the "Fetch Item (Citation Linker)" form. Fill it in with as much information you have about the item you are looking for and click Submit.

Fetch item

 You can get to the "Fetch Item (Citation Linker)" form directly in Millikin Library Discovery using the more (three dot) menu at the top of the page, then clicking Fetch Item.

millikin library discovery top menu with the more option highlighted

You now have three options for getting the entire article.

Option #1: Access Electronic Full Text

View Online

If full text is available in one of the databases, you will be provided a link directly to the database. Look under "View Online" for Full text availability and/or a specific vendor/publisher/provider name. Click on the link and you'll be taken to the database where you can access the full text.

Option #2: Check Print Availability

Description of print journal

 

Sometimes the library owns the journal in print or microfilm. If so, you'll see this information in the "Get It" section of the page. You'll need to check the years of the journal that the library owns and if it matches the year of the article that you are looking for. If so, you can photocopy or scan the article.

Option #3: Request Through Interlibrary Loan

Request through Interlibrary Loan

If the library does not have electronic access to the article or own it in print, then you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Click the link that says Request through Interlibrary Loan. This will open a new window. You'll be asked to log in to myMillikin (if you aren't logged in already). The information about the article should already be in the form, but check to make sure the following required information is there:

  • Article title
  • Journal / Magazine title
  • Year

The following items are not required, but are very helpful to have:

  • Page range of the article
  • Article author
  • Volume & Issue
  • Month
  • ISSN

When everything looks correct click Submit Request.

ILLiad article request form populated with sample information

You will receive an email when your article is available in your ILLiad account (typically in 2-3 business days).