Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MH211/MH314 - Survey of Western Music I & II: Reference Sources

A guide for students in MH211 and MH314 researching music history topics from medieval times through the Classical era and from the Romantic era through the present.

Print Reference Sources

Oxford Music Online

To access:

1)  Sign in to myMillikin and, under the "Academics" menu, click on "Library Databases."

Screen shot of library databases button in myMillikin

2)  Click on the subject "Music" and then select "Oxford/Grove Music Online."

Screen shot of library database subjects

 

Tips for using Oxford Music Online:

  • Searching:  If you would like to search across all the content in the database for your search terms, use the search box in the upper right corner of the screen.

 Oxford Music Online search box

  • Browsing:  You can browse entries by:
    • Topic
    • Instrument
    • Era
    • Region
    • Place
    • Occupation

 

  • Entry bibliographies: If you see an item in the entry's bibliography that you would like to obtain the text of:

Bibliography in Oxford Music Online

  • Go to the Citation Linker in another tab
  • Use the item's bibliographic entry to fill out the citation linker form and click "Submit."

Citation Linker form

 

 

 

 

Classical Music Reference Library

To access:

1)  Sign in to myMillikin and, under the "Academics" menu, click on "Library Databases."

Screen shot of library databases button in myMillikin

2)  Click ont he subject "Music" and then select "Classical Music Reference Library."

Screen shot of library database subjects

Tips for using Classical Music Reference:

  • Searching: If you would like to search across all the content in the database for your search terms, use the search box in the upper right corner of the screen.

 Classical Music Reference online search box

  • Browsing: You can browse the database content using the selections on the left side of the screen. Options including:
    • browsing by musical genre (chamber music, opera, etc.)
    • browsing by content/material type (biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, liner notes, etc.)
    • browsing by person's name (browse "all people")

 Classical Music Reference browsing option

Ask MUlibrarian