LibGuides: Linking to Database Content in Moodle: EBSCO Databases

EBSCO Databases

Staley Library subscribes to many Ebsco-brand databases, including:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of over 9,000 journals. Multidisciplinary topics, some coverage as far back as 1887.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Includes some full-text. Business and related topics, including detailed company profiles of the world's largest companies. Covers 1985-present.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text for over 1,300 journals; Nursing and allied health topics from 1937-present . Also includes Continuing Education Modules, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, Research Instruments, and Overviews of Diseases & Conditions.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes some full-text. Some coverage as far back as the early 20th century.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
(Education Resources Information Center) Includes some full-text. Education literature and resources, 1965-present.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes some full-text. Health related articles and reference sources. Years of coverage vary.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is the definitive research tool for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for the top performing arts journals.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, from 1926 - , with the full text of 1,000+ journals.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Includes some full-text. Provides selected full-text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
SocINDEX with selected full text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology, anthropology, social work and political research database indexing over 800 core and secondary journals, books, conference papers and other sources from 1895-present. Citations and abstracts with some full text journal articles.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Includes some full-text. Science, humanities, education and business topics from US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, 1994-present.

Permalinks in EBSCO Databases

1) In the EBSCO database of your choice, locate the item you wish to link to and click on the title.

2) On the next screen, click on the icon labeled "Permalink" in the "Tools" menu on the right side of the screen.

3) In the center of the screen click in the new box labeled "Permalink" to highlight the permalink, then hit ctrl + c (or right click and choose "copy") to copy the permalink.

4) In another tab, sign in to myMillikin and open your Moodle course. Click "turn editing on."

5) In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

Next, choose "URL" from the list of options.

6) On the next screen, type in the information for the article in the "name" and "description" blanks (you may wish to copy and paste the citation from the database).