Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linking to Database Content in Moodle: Video

Guide to linking to articles, audio, & video in Moodle using persistent links.

Video Databases

Staley Library subscribes to several streaming video databases from Alexander St. Press:

Staley Library also subscribes to the following video databases:

Adding Permanent Links to Swank Digital Campus Videos in Moodle Courses

To link to specific videos:

1)  Search for the film you wish to link to in the Swank video database.

2)  Click on the video's title or poster image

Swank movies

3) Click on "Share" (below the video screen). Choose "Copy Direct Link." [Note: the "LMS Link" is an embed code, rather than a link.]

Share

4)  In another tab, sign in to myMillikin and open your Moodle course.  Click "turn editing on."

5)  In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

Moodle- Add Activity or Resource

Next, choose "URL" from the list of options.

Moodle Add URL Option

6)  On the next screen, type in the information for the article in the "name" and "description" blanks (you may wish to copy and paste the information from the database).

  • For example:

    Harriet

    Director- Kasi Lemmons; Actors- Leslie Odom, Jr., Jennifer Nettles, Clarke Peters, Vanessa Bell Calloway, Vondie Curtis-Hall

Check the box, below the "Description," labeled "Display description on course page," if desired.

7)  In the box labeled "external URL," paste in the direct link to the film that you copied from Swank.

Moodle link details

8) Click "save and return to course." Test the link yourself to make sure it is functional. Contact a librarian if you need assistance.

Adding Permanent Links to Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Premium Videos in Moodle Courses

1) Search for the film you wish to link to in the Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Premium database.

Note: to limit to video content in this database, you will want to type your keyword(s) in the search box and then scroll down to the "Source Type" limit box and check the box next to "Audio & Video Works." Then click "Search."

Source type: Audio & Video Works

2)  Click on the title of the video you want to link to.

3)  Scroll down until you see the "All Options" link (this will be below the running transcript that is to the right of the video). Click on "All Options."

All Options

4)  In the pop-up box, click on the permalink icon at the top of the box to copy the link.

Link copied to clipboard

5)  In another tab, sign in to myMillikin and open your Moodle course.  Click "turn editing on."

6)  In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

Moodle- Add Activity or Resource

Next, choose "URL" from the list of options.

Moodle Add URL Option

7)  On the next screen, type in the information for the article in the "name" and "description" blanks (you may wish to copy and paste the information from the database).

  • For example:

    The Cardiovascular System, Part II. Harrigan, J. (Director). (2018, Jan 01).[Video/DVD] Cypress: Medcom, Inc., Medcom.

Check the box, below the "Description," labeled "Display description on course page," if desired.

8)  In the box labeled "external URL," paste in the link you copied from the database. Click "save and return to course."  Test the link yourself to make sure it is functional.

Adding Permanent Links to Alexander St. Press Videos in Moodle Courses

If you wish, you may have students access the video you want them to watch directly through Moodle through the use of permanent URLs (also known as permalinks).

To link to specific videos:

1)  Search for the film you wish to link to in the video database.

2)  Click on the title.

3)  Click on the link above the video that says "Share."

Share

4)  In the pop-up at the bottom of the screen, click the button that says "copy permalink."

Copy Permalink

5)  In another tab, sign in to myMillikin and open your Moodle course.  Click "turn editing on."

6)  In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

Moodle- Add Activity or Resource

Next, choose "URL" from the list of options.

Moodle Add URL Option

7)  On the next screen, type in the information for the video in the "name" and "description" blanks (you may wish to copy and paste the track title from the database).

  • example:  The Mandolin King (El Rey del Bandolin) by John Dickinson (Documentary Educational Resources/DER), 1985, 28 minutes.

8)  In the box that is labeled "external URL,"

Moodle URL information

9)  Click "save and return to course." Test the link to confirm it works.

Creating Clips in Alexander St. Press Video Databases & Adding Links to them in Moodle Courses

Creating a clip in Alexander Street Press video databases:

1)  Search for the video you wish to link to in the database, then choose the option you desire from the list of results by clicking on it.

2)  On the next screen, click on the tab/link that says "clips."

Clips

3)  Click "Sign in to create new clip" and sign in. (If you do not yet have an account, click "Register as a User" to create one.)

Sign in to create a new clip

4)  Click "Create a new clip."

Create a new clip

5)  In the pop-up at the bottom of the screen, give the clip a title and description, then enter a start and finish time (or use the sliding dots on the video timeline to indicate start and finish times). Choose who you want the clip to be visible to (only you/private, everyone/public, institution), and then click "Save Changes."

Create a Clip

In another tab, sign in to MyMillikin and open your Moodle course.  Click "turn editing on."

6)  In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

Moodle- Add Activity or Resource

Next, choose "URL" from the list of options.

Moodle Add URL Option

7)  On the next screen, type in the information for the clip "name" and "description" blanks.

  • example:  "Madama Butterfly" directed by Robert Wilson. , produced by Hans Petri. Opus Arte, 2005. Alexander Street, https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/madama-butterfly-2

8)  In the box that is labeled "external URL,"

Moodle URL information

9)  Click "save and return to course." Test the link to confirm it works.

10)  When students access this URL in Moodle, they will then need to click on the "clips" option in the video database to see any clips you have created for the video and have shared with Millikin users.

Ask MUlibrarian

Adding Permanent Links to medici.tv Videos in Moodle Courses

Links to videos in Medici.tv appear to be persistent links, so you will just need to copy the URL in the browser, and add a proxy prefix to it in order to make it accessible to off-campus Millikin users.

1)  Search for and click on the video you wish to link to.

2)  In another tab, sign in to myMillikin and open your Moodle course.  Click "turn editing on."

3)  In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

  • Choose "URL" from the list of options in the pop-up, then click "add."

Add file or resource in Moodle

Adding a URL in Moodle

4)  On the next screen, type in the information for the video in the "name" and "description" blanks (you may wish to copy and paste the video title from the database).

  • example:  Ballet La Sylphide by August Bournonville, music by Herman Lovenskiold. Directed by Thomas Grimm at the Royal Danish Theatre, 1988. 1 hour 02 minutes.

5)  In the box labeled "external URL,"

6)  Click "save and return to course." Test the link to confirm that it works.