LibGuides: Linking to Database Content in Moodle: Drama Texts Collection

Drama Texts Collection

Drama Texts Collection This link opens in a new window
A foundational collection of dramatic texts for any institution wanting to teach the basics of drama. With over 13,000 plays, Drama Texts Collection spans nearly a millennium of dramatic writing, covering the core works of the Western canon alongside their important yet forgotten contemporaries—works that are necessary to any literary or theatrical education.
Twentieth Century Drama (1891-2008) This link opens in a new window
Bringing together an unparalleled collection of the most important works from the last century from the English-speaking world, Twentieth-Century Drama features plays from over 300 noted playwrights and lesser known dramatists.
American Drama (1714–1915‎) This link opens in a new window
American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity - over 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
252 plays by 42 playwrights, with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Black Drama (3rd Edition) This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Contemporary World Drama This link opens in a new window
This collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.
English Drama This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
Latin American Drama This link opens in a new window
Plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigration issues, and political history.
North American Indian Drama (2nd Edition) This link opens in a new window
256 plays by 49 Native American playwrights.
North American Women's Drama (2nd Edition) This link opens in a new window
Contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the assistance of our editorial board

Persistent Links in Drama Texts Collection

1) In Drama Texts Collection (or in one of its specific sub-collections like Asian American Drama), locate the item you wish to link to and click on the title or cover image.

Drama Texts Collection play example

2) On the next page, locate and click on the option in the tool links listed above the play text.

Drama Texts tools: Embed/Link option

Click "Copy" on the pop-up window to copy the permanent link to the play text.

Copy permanent link example

3) In another tab, sign in to myMillikin and open your Moodle course. Click "turn editing on."

4) In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

Moodle- Add Activity or Resource

Next, choose "URL" from the list of options.

Moodle Add URL Option

5) On the next screen, type in the information for the play in the "name" and "description" blanks (you may wish to copy and paste the citation from the database...just click on "Cite," then choose the format you want to use).

For example: Demirski, Paweł. Diamonds Are Coal That Got Down to Business: DIAMONDS ARE COAL THAT GOT DOWN TO BUSINESS. Seagull Books London, 2014. Alexander Street, https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cdocument%7C4738786.

Check the box, below the "Description," labeled "Display description on course page," if desired.

6) In the box labeled "external URL," paste in the "permanent link" you copied earlier.

You must use the link from the "</> Embed/Link" option, (not just the URL in the browser) if you want students from off-campus to access the article.

Example of Moodle link

7) Click "save and return to course." Test the link to make sure it works.

Ask MUlibrarian

Email: refdesk@millikin.edu