Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linking to Database Content in Moodle: ProQuest Databases

Guide to linking to articles, audio, & video in Moodle using persistent links.

ProQuest Databases

Staley Library subscribes to several ProQuest-brand databases, including:

The following drama databases are also offered through ProQuest.

Persistent Links in ProQuest Databases

1) In the ProQuest database of your choice, locate the item you wish to link to and click on the title.

ProQuest Article result

2)  On the next screen, the default tab will be "Full Text." Switch the tab to "Abstract/Details."

Abstract/Details tab

3)  Scroll down until you see the field labeled "Document URL."  Highlight and copy the full URL (hit ctrl + c, or right click and choose "copy").

ProQuest Document URL

4)  In another tab, sign in to myMillikin and open your Moodle course.  Click "turn editing on."

5)  In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

Moodle- Add Activity or Resource

Next, choose "URL" from the list of options.

Moodle Add URL Option

6)  On the next screen, type in the information for the article in the "name" and "description" blanks (you may wish to copy and paste the citation from the database).

  • example:  Khanna, M. P., & Gordon, P. H. (2000). Gastrocolic fistulization in crohn's disease: A case report and a review of the literature. Canadian Journal of Surgery, 43(1), 53-6.

Check the box, below the "Description," labeled "Display description on course page," if desired.

7)  In the box labeled "external URL," paste in the URL you copied from the Proquest article's "Document URL."

ProQuest URL in Moodle

8)  Click "save and return to course." Test the link to make sure it works.

Adding Permanent Links to Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Premium Video Content in Moodle

1) Search for the film you wish to link to in the Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Premium database.

Note: to limit to video content in this database, you will want to type your keyword(s) in the search box and then scroll down to the "Source Type" limit box and check the box next to "Audio & Video Works." Then click "Search."

Source type: Audio & Video Works

2)  Click on the title of the video you want to link to.

3)  Scroll down until you see the "All Options" link (this will be below the running transcript that is to the right of the video). Click on "All Options."

All Options

4)  In the pop-up box, click on the permalink icon at the top of the box to copy the link.

Link copied to clipboard

5)  In another tab, sign in to myMillikin and open your Moodle course.  Click "turn editing on."

6)  In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

Moodle- Add Activity or Resource

Next, choose "URL" from the list of options.

Moodle Add URL Option

7)  On the next screen, type in the information for the article in the "name" and "description" blanks (you may wish to copy and paste the information from the database).

  • For example:

    The Cardiovascular System, Part II. Harrigan, J. (Director). (2018, Jan 01).[Video/DVD] Cypress: Medcom, Inc., Medcom.

Check the box, below the "Description," labeled "Display description on course page," if desired.

8)  In the box labeled "external URL," paste in the link you copied from the database. Click "save and return to course."  Test the link yourself to make sure it is functional.

Ask MUlibrarian

Adding Permanent Links to ProQuest Drama Database Content in Moodle

1) In the ProQuest drama database of your choice, locate the item you wish to link to and click on the title.

Drama search results

2)  On the next screen, the default tab will be "Full Text." Switch the tab to "Details."

Details tab

3)  Scroll down until you see the field labeled "Document URL."  Highlight and copy the full URL (hit ctrl + c, or right click and choose "copy").

Document URL

4)  In another tab, sign in to myMillikin and open your Moodle course.  Click "turn editing on."

5)  In the desired week/section of your Moodle course, click the option to "Add activity or resource."

Moodle- Add Activity or Resource

Next, choose "URL" from the list of options.

Moodle Add URL Option

6)  On the next screen, type in the information for the article in the "name" and "description" blanks (you may wish to copy and paste the citation from the database).

  • example:  Saxe, J. G. (1889). Family Quarrels. New York: Retrieved from https://www.proquest.com/books/family-quarrels/docview/2147519322/se-2?accountid=28051

Check the box, below the "Description," labeled "Display description on course page," if desired.

7)  In the box labeled "external URL," paste in the URL you copied from the Proquest article's "Document URL."

Moodle URL details

8)  Click "save and return to course." Test the link to make sure it works.